Join our zoo community
GregOz

Purple-Faced Langur

After many years of looking and what will possibly be one of my final zoo visits as a Singapore resident, I finally saw her.

Purple-Faced Langur
GregOz, 4 Nov 2022
Pigeon, Ituri, Joker1706 and 21 others like this.
    • UngulateNerd92
      Remind me, how many Purple-faced langurs (Trachypithecus vetulus) are currently kept at Singapore Zoo? Also, did they come in the same shipment or at the same time as their Yellow-striped chevrotains (Moschiola kathygre)? All from Colombo Zoo?
    • Nix
      Stunning animal, certainly one of my favorite langur species.
      Will hopefully be able to see them at Eventieria Wildlife Park this December :D
    • GregOz
      @UngulateNerd92i understand there is only the one elderly female remaining at the zoo.
    • UngulateNerd92
      @GregOz ok thank you. Do you know when the zoo first acquired them or where the founder stock came from? or nothing beyond information about the remaining animal?
    • UngulateNerd92
      @Nix absolutely! I don't blame you. Aren't there some in captivity in South Africa already, if so, where are they kept? Also, didn't the current stock from South Africa come from the United Kingdom?
    • Nix
      @UngulateNerd92 Indeed, all the male Purple-faced langurs in South Africa originate from stock imported from Cotswold, and the females from unknown origins.
      Induna Primate and parrot Park were the ones to import the original animals, Eventieria Wildlife Park keeps a single female named Porsha (presumably from Induna), and Monkeyland keeps a hybrid langur which clearly has some purple-faced in him.
      Unfortunately, Induna is completely private, and I haven't even found a way to possibly contact them to arrange a visit. An utter shame seeing as they have imported some animals that can't be seen elsewhere in South Africa, such as Sulawesi black Macaques.
    • Chlidonias