Join our zoo community

Bentley Wildfowl A First visit to Bentley Wildfowl

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by pipaluk, 20 Jul 2017.

1. pipaluk

pipaluk Well-Known Member 10+ year member

I had never heard of this place before Shorts listed it for the 2017 UK challenge, but as I have relatives living less than an hour from here, I decided to have a look.

I have only been to Arundel WWT, so don't have much to compare it to and have to confess that I am no expert when it comes to Wildfowl, but I enjoyed the visit nevertheless!

The Wildfowl reserve is set in pleasant countryside with tree lined paths. The main path follows the perimeter with 20 or so low fenced paddocks of varying sizes, most of them were wide rather than deep which I prefer as it gives better viewing. There are then a couple of paths across the centre of the reserve, one of which passes 4 higher fenced paddocks containing 3 species of crane & one for Cape Barren Geese.

Further along this path are enclosures for white Stork & Giant Wood Rail.

Near this is one of the highlights for me, a very natural well planted enclosure with large ponds and an island which held around 10 Chilean Flamingo. I would say it is probably one of the best flamingo exhibits that I've seen. My feelings may have been influenced by the contrast with the bare yard and small pool I'd seen at Birdworld the day before though!

There were a lot of unsigned enclosures and several with only some of the species labelled.

Overall, I enjoyed the hour and a half or so I spent there and if you like Wildfowl and are nearby, give it a try. I think I preferred it to WWT Arundel.

For anyone interested there is also a miniature railway and small motor museum, which I had a quick look at.

Species list to follow

Brum likes this.
  2. pipaluk

Chilean Flamingo
    Manchurian Crane
    Grey Crowned Crane
    Common Crane
    White Stork
    Giant Wood Rail
    Guinea Fowl

Swans

Corscoroba
    Bewicks
    Black
    Black-necked