Join our zoo community

Another new member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Rookeyper, 26 Jan 2007.

1. Rookeyper

Rookeyper Well-Known Member

Hello everyone. I'd like to introduce myself. I work as an area manager for the Australian section of the Fort Wayne Children's Zoo in northern Indiana in the US. I've worked here for 20+ years and thoroughly enjoy the Australian animals I've worked with over the years. We've housed Eastern grey kangaroos, Tassie devils, echidnas, striped possums, wombats, kowari, bettongs, lots of bird species, fish, reptiles... I've raised several kangaroos and a couple of wallabies. I'm the studbook keeper for Eastern and Wesstern grey kangaroos in Nort America.
    I attended the ICZ conference in Australia last spring and visited Kangaroo Island and Sydney. I found Australia to be a wonderful place, and I especially enjoyed the wildlife.

Elaine Kirchner

2. MARK

MARK Well-Known Member

Welcome Elaine, Hope you enjoy your stay here, glad to hear you liked your visit down under, maybe you could tell us a little of zoo life in your part of the world. Interesting that you are the stub book keeper for roos in North America, Welcome.

3. Simon Hampel

Simon Hampel Administrator Staff Member

Welcome Rookeyper - great to have you here.

4. patrick

patrick Well-Known Member

great to have you here elaine. i'm sure you have some very valuable contributions to some of teh discusssions we have been having of late.

welcome!

5. Zoo_Boy

Zoo_Boy Well-Known Member

OMG u are building the new africa exhibit at the moment that rocks, i have been getting news about if of google, can you provide anymore info, such as a map of the new exhibit

u roc, thnx for joining Zoo_Boy, aka Zoo_Boy

6. Rookeyper