Join our zoo community

Any advice for animal photography for a upcoming safari trip in 2023?

Discussion in 'Animal Photography' started by Jena, 29 Sep 2022.

1. Jena

Jena Well-Known Member

Hi guys, so I am going to Uganda and Kenya in 2023 and the two cameras I plan on bringing with me is my PowerShot SX530 HS, and my newer camera which is a DSLR, my EOS Rebel T7 the longest lens I have for that camera is 75 mm-300mm. Now I have been practicing animal photographery at zoos for many years now with my older camera, and now recently with my newer camera. I been pretty stressed out though because of all this practicing due to me never being fully satisifed with my photos specifically on the newer camera because I am constantly worried it won't be enough or good enough for the safari trip since unlike in zoos, animals in the wild are more further away. I also don't know what other camera equipment I should bring with me to africa that can help stabilize my camera so it doesn't shake or improve the quality of my photos. Another major concern I have is because of money, my mom decided to opt for group safari instead of private safari so that alone has me worried I won't be able to take quality photos because I am worried if who ever is in the group might rush me. I also need advice on what is the best possible settings for wildlife photography. And if I should consider renting a lens longer then the one I currently have for the trip when I go on the trip (since I can't afford to actually buy it).

I know this isn't really zoo related, but it still animal related and needing to vent and just some advice on this because it has been very stressful.

2. Terry Thomas

Terry Thomas Well-Known Member Premium Member 5+ year member

My advice would be this:- Unless you know how to use your cameras functions really well, just leave it on automatic and let the camera do it's job, whilst you concentrate on the subject.

qthemusic and Lafone like this.
  3. Jena