Join our zoo community

Any tips for a beginner?

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by LucasReynesMatt, 4 Jun 2015.

Tags:
  1. LucasReynesMatt

LucasReynesMatt New Member

I am a painter living and working in London and have recently embarked on a project to make a modern day bestiary (a kind of medieval encyclopedia of animals). I have been researching animals and evolution for about six months now, reading books by Konrad Lorenz, Richard Dawkins and more recently Edward O Wilson. I have learnt much from these books about animals and their behaviour but I am now trying to find more detailed information on specific animals to use in my Bestiary.

This is where I have begun to have trouble as much of what I find on the internet is either too basic or too academic to be of use to me. For instance I am interested in the pygmy gecko (Coleodactylus amazonicus) but if I type in it's common name on my search engine, I get large amounts of pages all with the same info (usually about how it can stand on water) and if I type in it's Latin name I get academic papers that either I don't understand or are about a very specific aspect of the gecko which is too involved for me.

This has been the case for other animals I have tried to look into though I have had better luck with some. The kind of information I want would be a good overview of the animal's phsyiognomy, habitat and habits. It is also important for me that I can cite the information I find so unfortunately this rules out wikipedia which I have used a lot in my preliminary research.

The kind of animals I am looking into are very varied and many are nowhere near as obsure as the pygmy gecko (e.g crows, foxes, cows) but it would still be nice to have a more general scientific overview of these instead of having to read whole books as to do this with the amount of animals I am hoping to write about would take an age!

Does anyone have any tips or advice on how I might go about finding this kind of information?