Join our zoo community

Aspinall Trip!

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by ShonenJake13, 16 Oct 2016.

1. ShonenJake13

ShonenJake13 Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Hello all!

So I am planning on continuing on my quest to visit all of the top 10 zoos in England this year (going from a list I found on the Internet, not official). Being a London resident I visit there regularly, and this year I have also visited Twycross, Whipsnade and most recently Chester. Next on the list is, as the title gives away, Howletts and Port Lympne! Myself and pocket (my co-pilot in this endeavour) will be visiting both on one weekend; Howletts on the Saturday and Port Lympne on the Sunday. Currently looking at some point in November.

Anyone have any highlights/good route tips? Also, me being me, the gorillas will be my main must-see; are all 5 (technically 6, if you count Sidonie being separated as a group) groups at Howletts and all 3 groups at Port Lympne onshow, and if so where in each collection?

I currently have the Howletts groups down as the following:

Djanghou, Kwimba, Sanki, Kimba, Kidiki, Masindi, Kisane, Nkoumou, Affy, Jouki, Soundi

Shumba, Juma, Dihi, Emmie, Ebeki, Joshi, Kiju

Mushi, Sidonie (lives separated from the group), Tambabi, Kifu, Bamilla, Emba

Tebe, Sammi, Kibara

Baby Doll

And the Port Lympne groups as:

Tamba, Kouillou, Sangha, Matibe, Jubi, Mambi, Viringika, Oundi, Boula, Bou, Kabale, Koundi

Kangu, Kebu, Kouyou, Fubu

Mataki, Ambam, Timbou, Kush, Djimu

After these Paignton, Colchester, Bristol and Marwell are on the list!! :D

Last edited: 16 Oct 2016
  2. Pertinax

Pertinax Well-Known Member 15+ year member

At Howletts they apparently closed off the 'old Gorillas' area( the kitchen garden area) when new male Sammi first arrived a few weeks back, but I'm sure its open again by now.I doubt you will be able to see Sidonie though.