Join our zoo community

Barbary Apes, Singes Magot, Barbary Macaques around the World

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by mlbenrabah, 4 May 2015.

1. mlbenrabah

mlbenrabah New Member

Hello,

I am writing in hopes to be able to ask a few questions about the total number of Barbary macaques in captivity in zoos and primate facility/centres that members know of. I am a graduate student who completed a recent population count of the remaining wild populations in Algeria. Currently i am working on completing a studbook inventory of all the captive population counts worldwide. It would be instrumental for the long term conservation of the species to gather such information for conservation organizations such as IUCN and CITIES records.

If possible would you please provide the species count as well as Sex and Approximate age. Any resulting publications will be referenced and attributed to according to facility correctly!

Thank you in advance. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns.

Sincerely,

M. Lamine Benrabah, BSc | MSc
    [email protected]
    College of Life Science
    Joseph Banks Laboratory JBL1002
    University of Lincoln, Brayford Pool, Lincoln, Lincolnshire. LN6 7TS
    Cell: +44 (0)7771022091

2. TZFan

TZFan Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Toronto Zoo used to have a good sized group. Today they are down to three older females. Zsa Zsa is the oldest and lives off display because she cannot get along with the others. Pinky and Shannon are slightly younger and live in the exhibit but it is only visible from the zoomobile route.

The zoo had three more males Rocky and Blue as well as another female Leah. They lived in a separate troop. Blue is missing a leg due to cancer. Last year they were transferred out. I believe they went to Safari Niagara. They have a troop there. I dont know about those animals.

Sorry not a ton of info but its a start for you.

3. persimon

persimon Well-Known Member