Join our zoo community

Becoming a Zookeeper....

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by berberry08, 10 Jul 2012.

1. berberry08

berberry08 Member

Good Afternoon,

I'm curious to know if you must have a degree to work at a zoo? I am volunteering now and I'm aware that a degree is great. I'm working on mine now. However, I'm also curious to know if anyone out there has tried to obtain a husbandry, care and/or enrichment certificates? Are these a scam?

A little background on myself, I'm currently a full time student (2nd year of my associates), I work 8-5 during the week and volunteer 7-2pm at the Dallas Zoo. I have past experience with equines such as camels, horses and zebra crosses. I know my way around a barn :) I'm very excited to say I'm well on my way to obtaining my goal of becoming a zoo keeper. I would like to continue on with my academic career, however, I'd also like to have some extra certificates to boost my resume. Mostly so when a job does become available at the zoo, I'd have at least something. Do you all know of any programs of husbandry, enrichment or the like?

Thanks,
    Berberry08

2. nanoboy

nanoboy Well-Known Member

Hmmm ..... This is a well articulated post, so I am surprised that no one has responded to you. I am not a zoo expert, but it is fair to say that in a world with 7 billion people and a finite number of zoos, it is extremely competitive. Any qualifications and experience that could give you the edge should be pursued with a vengeance. Here in Australia, recent zookeepers at larger zoos all seem to have at least one relevant degree. They may also have certificates in animal husbandry. Zoos Victoria (3 large zoos in Oz) recently advertised for keepers, and they got 600 applications. When you have to sift through so many CVs, you have to draw a line to reject some outright. This line, I understand, is often whether you have a degree or not.

3. berberry08

berberry08 Member