Join our zoo community

Best tiger exibit in the world (in a zoo, not a wildlife park!)

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Dan, 1 Dec 2008.

1. Dan

Dan Well-Known Member

My recently introduced thread about "The best elephant house in the world" is doing well, with lots of interesting posts. So let me try another one with a similar theme.

What is the best tiger exhibit in the world, at a zoo - not a wildlife park?

Here you are free to take any consideration that you want into mind, you are not limitied to THE HOUSE, as in the elephant thread.

I will announce my nominee: The Amur Tiger exhibit at Kolmården Zoo, Sweden. Frequent readers of this web page - who might have gotten to know me and my views and opinions by now - might start to suspect that I am a paid PR agent for Kolmården Zoo, but I am not. I have mentioned this exhibit a lot though, I must admit. And made a lot of PR for the 10 web cameras:
    Webbkameror.se - TigerCam, TigerWorld, Kolmårdens sibiriska tigrar live, webkamera, webcam, webcamera, webbkameror, webkameror, webkamra, webbkamror, djurpark, zoo, tiger

I have spent literally hundreds of hours watching these web cams. I have seen a litter of cubs growing up last year and now look forward to follow the new litter growing up. The outdoor enclosure is 4 800square meters big. It is, as far as I have understood, available to the cats 24/7 all year around (except for occasional maintainence work). One part of it is a flat piece of grass, with some rocks, some trees and a "fake Buddah statue". Another feature is a " partly buried bus" in which visitors can come into, via un underground tunnel and lead by keepers. The cats seem to be highly enriched by this. They run around the bus, jump upon the roof of it and in general act very inquisitive.