Join our zoo community

Britain & Ireland's most innovative/exciting zoo exhibits

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by sarahm, 14 Aug 2015.

1. sarahm

sarahm New Member

Hi everyone

Hope you can help. I'm a journalist trying to find out which are the most exciting and innovative zoo exhibits in Britain and Ireland.

As resources and time don't allow me to visit them all for myself (sadly!), I'm relying on websites and press officers at the moment, but what i really need is some subjective opinions.

So far I've uncovered things like: In with the Spiders at ZSL London; Islands at Chester; cheetahs at Wild Place; chimps at Edinburgh, the Bat Island at Durrell Wildlife Park (which deserves inclusion for its focus on sustainability); gentoos at The Deep, Sealion cove at Dublin, lions at Folly Farm and the diving tufted ducks at the Lakes Aquarium.

Anything else come to mind? obviously, I can't attempt to cover everything, but let me know if there's anything really special that's missing.

Would be really grateful for any input! Thanks all!

2. Waddi

Waddi Well-Known Member

"Seal and penguin coast" at Bristol Zoo
    The snow Leopard enclosure at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis has a Plexiglas tunnel that leads straight through the middle of the enclosure.

3. Shirokuma

Shirokuma Well-Known Member

I would add the polar bears at Highland Wildlife Park. Innovative in the lack of heavy fencing and in having two enclosures - one for males and another quite separate for female.

4. Brum

Brum Well-Known Member 10+ year member

The whole aviary section at Living Coasts is extremely well done and Auk Cliffs is a very impessive exhibit in itself. It features underwater viewing and has some very unusual species in there!

5. zooman64

zooman64 Well-Known Member