Join our zoo community

Career Advice/Graduate Degree

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by capybara, 15 Apr 2017.

1. capybara

capybara Member

Hello everyone!

So I am a non-traditional student (24yo) earning my Bachelors degree in Animal Science and concentrating in Animal Management. I have an Associates degree in Biology. I have worked primarily in the veterinary field but realized long ago that I am more interested in husbandry than veterinary work. I have very much considered becoming a zookeeper for most of my life. I have (what I would consider) significant animal experience - veterinary (wellness, specialty, and emergency), cat rescue, farm work (livestock - chickens, goats, sheep, cows), and most importantly, zoo volunteer experience. My zoo volunteer experience is going on 3 years of on and off volunteering around the semesters. I have a strong recommendation from the lead zookeeper/volunteer coordinator there. I am considering volunteering at a different zoo starting this summer.

First, I am a full-time student but I also work full-time to support myself. I was accepted to all zoo internships I applied to for this summer but was unable to accept them due to finances. I do not see this situation changing. For that reason I will not be able to complete an internship during school. I am not sure if my volunteer experience (by the time I graduate it will be 5+ years), and my other experience and education will be enough to get a position as a zookeeper. Many job ads want many years of paid experience working with specific animals and I just will not have that.

Second, I am considering applying to Colorado State for their PSM in Zoo, Aquarium, and Shelter Management. Is there anyone who has completed this program and could speak with me about it? I am looking to move up in zoo management eventually.