Join our zoo community

Career Change to Zoologist

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by jennysensei, 1 Sep 2014.

1. jennysensei

jennysensei New Member

Ten years ago, I graduated from Rutgers with a B.S. in Animal Science. While there, I did a few research internships and I also worked as vet technician. After college, I became a public school science teacher and have been teaching middle school students life science and physics. After 10 years of teaching, I now want to pursue my dream job. I envision working outside, studying animals, and furthering research in (possibly) evolutionary biology. I am told this job is called a Zoologist. Where do I start? I need a plan of action.

2. DavidBrown

DavidBrown Well-Known Member 15+ year member

The dream job that I think that you are describing would probably be as an academic at a research university or maybe as a research scientist for a government department (USFWS, Forest Service, National Park Service, etc.).

Are you thinking about going to grad school to get a masters or a PhD, because those would likely be prerequisites for a research job.

I would strongly recommend doing some informational interviewing of people who are doing the jobs that you think that you might want to do to see if you really do want to do them and if so, how best to try and develop a specific action plan.

Many people who go into research science either supplement their careers by teaching or end up in teaching, so possibly going the other way could work. Research jobs are often temporary, have lousy pay relative to teaching, and are insanely competitive - having a passion for doing the work is why people stick with it. It sounds like maybe you have that passion.

3. jennysensei

jennysensei New Member

Whom do I contact?

Hi Dave,

Yes, I am willing to go back to school to get a master's or PHD.