Join our zoo community

Howletts Wild Animal Park Dholes Escape

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by skoop102, 11 Feb 2009.

1. skoop102

skoop102 Well-Known Member

2. James27

James27 Well-Known Member

Oh no :-s
    Wonder how they escaped?

3. skoop102

skoop102 Well-Known Member

4. Nanook

Nanook Well-Known Member

Disturbing News ! Though the reports suggest that a couple are still on the loose Id say they the staff did extremely well indeed to recapture as many as they did if 20 got out!? It is a nightmare for everyone involved not least the keepers. This species is so elusive , it may be some time before they are ALL found especially in that area . Z.

5. taun

taun Well-Known Member

Oops, I hope they recapture them all.

6. Sand Cat

Sand Cat Well-Known Member 15+ year member

That's VERY bad news! If I was a zoo manager/owner then that would be my worst nightmare come true. I do think the press release is playing down the seriousness of this somewhat - I'm sure I read at Twycross that dholes can be very aggressive towards other animals, especially in a large pack. Certainly a bit more dangerous than your average fox!!!

Out of interest, does anyone know what the enclosure at Howletts is like for them?? I'm very curious as to how this might have happened.

7. zoogiraffe

zoogiraffe Well-Known Member

Its not the first time a group of Dholes has been on the lose in the U.K.

8. stephend

stephend Well-Known Member

How well will they cope in the british countryside? are they well adapted??

9. James27

James27 Well-Known Member

Hopefully they'll be caught before they've had a chance to!
    Can't help but feel in a few years time there will be tails of feral Dholes all over the UK...

10. gentle lemur

gentle lemur Well-Known Member 15+ year member