Join our zoo community

Fauna Gardens Private Collection

Discussion in 'Private Collections & Pets' started by Javan Rhino, 15 Jul 2010.

1. Javan Rhino

Javan Rhino Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Now that my brother has moved out, I have a spare room in which I can finally start a small private collection. This will focus mainly on reptiles, fish, small mammals and birds. However, since I am a beginner in many aspects (have never kept reptiles before), I may need some help on here, so will be grateful for any advice/tips :).
    Mainly, I am looking for how feasible certain things are. For example, whether a species is good for beginners, how much set-ups for the species would (approx.) cost (and what it would include) and how easy it is to aquire species (common in pet shops/private breeders).

So, here is the proposed collection:

Bearded Dragon (1.1 or 1.0 or 0.1)
    Leopard Gecko (0.2)
    Corn Snake (0.2)

Siamese Fighting Fish (1.0 or 1.1), sharing a tank with Neon Tetras (unknown number) and Gold Mystery Snails (0.0.2)

Long-nosed Elephant Fish (unknown number)

Degus (2.0, 0.2 or 1.1)

Sugar Gliders (0.1)

Lovebirds (1.1)

If this all goes ahead, I shall start a facebook page for the collection and hopefully, over the years, I shall be able to expand upon it (with more space/money/knowledge).

2. LizardInsanity

LizardInsanity Well-Known Member

That actually sounds pretty cool!I keep leopards and beardies and can give some advice on what you need.(I will post leopards later)

Bearded Dragons:
    *A 50 gallon enclosure per specimen (I can usually get these cheap or free from garage sales,craigslist,etc.You could also build a nice habitat yourself)
    *A water bowl (you can go cheap and get a 2 dollar dog bowl or by a big rock dish for like 10)
    *A food bowl (Same)
    *A uvb fluorescent tube and fixture (really expensive,check ebay)
    *A spot basking light preferably like 115 watt (bulbs are like 10 dollars and the fixture is also around 10)