Join our zoo community

First Camera Advice

Discussion in 'Animal Photography' started by AlexanderTHG, 2 Nov 2022.

1. AlexanderTHG

AlexanderTHG Well-Known Member

Hi all,

Sorry to start another thread, but seeing as there hadn’t been one like this for a while, I thought it might be worth creating one.

I too am looking at buying my first ‘proper’ camera for general zoo/wildlife photography. I’ve been doing a bit of research for a few months now, but haven’t come to a conclusion, and so thought I should ask some people who may know their way around camera’s.

As this would be my first camera, I don’t want anything too complicated, but also want something with decent enough specs that I won’t be wanting to upgrade as soon as I buy one! I have a budget of around £1000-£1200 but can go over it a little if it will enable me to get a better model. I am currently looking at the Nikon D3500 and D5600 but I’m not an expert and so don’t know whether it would be worth going up to a D7200/D7500, if that will last me longer.

I am aware that lenses are just as important, if not more important than the body itself and so plan on getting a 70-300 lens as hopefully that should work for most zoo related photography.

As I’m new to photography, any advice and guidance would be hugely appreciated, especially from those who own a camera I’m interested in or know their cameras well!

Thanks in advance,

Alexander

Lafone likes this.
  2. cloudedleopard611

cloudedleopard611 Well-Known Member