Join our zoo community

General Pakistani Zoo-news

Discussion in 'Pakistan' started by vogelcommando, 4 May 2018.

1. vogelcommando

vogelcommando Well-Known Member 10+ year member

2. J I N X

J I N X Well-Known Member 5+ year member

Firstly, the war on terror in Pakistan is all but over, come on over see for yourselves. Anyways that's not what I'm here to talk about. Peshawar zoo opened in February way ahead of schedule to build up popularity for the current government because elections are coming up. There is barely any vegetation in the zoo and most enclosures are not yet fully functioning. The animals in the zoo are the responsibility of the contractors who bought them, for the first 4 months ie quarantine. The Nilgai died within the first month it was brought, now I'm no expert but I have a feeling it was brought ill. The birds that have died are mainly passerines and their housing conditions are old Victorian style, I'm currently advising the zoo on improving those, I'll appreciate any suggestions you guys can make too, contact the zoo on their Facebook page. There was no wolf breaking into the monkey enclosure. The wolf and macaque had apparently been kept together since before the zoo acquired them and so they were left in the same enclosure, the incident occurred during the night in the indoor quarters when keepers were not around. Who you want to blame for this, the designers for not having separate shelters or the zoo staff is up to you I'm just gonna put the facts here. The snow leopard died due to a clogged artery, the zoo has no facilities for detections of such conditions, I hope this changes soon because the development plan does include veterinary facilities, exactly when this will come into being is anyone's guess.