Join our zoo community

Toronto Zoo General Zoo Questions

Discussion in 'Canada' started by SeanKinger6, 2 Jun 2014.

1. SeanKinger6

SeanKinger6 Active Member

Hello Everyone, I'm new to this so you gotta stick with me!

1) Now that the giraffe is moving to the old elephant exhibit, what do you think will be going in the giraffe exhibit? New Animal? Both lion groups out?

2) Does anyone know anything about the young pack of wolves (Canadian Domain)? Pregnant?

3) Does anyone know when/if new clouded leopards are coming?

2. cypher

cypher Well-Known Member 10+ year member

First off Welcome SeanKinger6. I'll try answering your questions.

1) After the Giraffes move to the old elephant exhibit, the plan is to bring in a new hoof stock species in. What species hasn't been decided or revealed yet, but that's what we know.

2) All I know about the young pack in the Canadian Domain is that there are 3 of them and they are much younger than the pack in the Tundra Trek.

3) Rumors are that we are indeed getting new Clouded Leopards, a pair in fact. We are not sure when they're getting here just yet.

3. TZFan

TZFan Well-Known Member 10+ year member

1) I think the species has been decided, just not revealed. They already have the plans to ready for the new hoofstock barn and yards. I would think they would need to know what they are going to bring in to make those plans. I cant wait for the giraffes to make the move because construction is supposed to start pretty soon there after with it being completed by the end of the year... I hold little faith in it being done then but at least it might be ready for spring 2015 with our new friends.

But if you want guesses as to what will be arriving I would think wildebeests, addax, impala, elands, various gazelles and gerenuks are all good guesses. I would love to see some sort of mixed exhibit.