Join our zoo community

Getting a job in a new zoo

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by Elsa89, 30 Dec 2014.

1. Elsa89

Elsa89 New Member

Hello there,

I was wondering if anyone would be able to help and advise me?

I am looking for a new job. I currently work in a safari park, and love it, it's just that I want to move to a new establishment. I want to gain further knowledge and experiences working with new animals.

I have been applying for the last year and have not been having much luck. I have a degree in animal behaviour and have two years or experience in a zoo environment.

Any advice??

Thanks x

2. Hexaprotodon

Hexaprotodon Well-Known Member

Hi Elsa,

I would suggest joining an organisation such as ABWAK (The Association of British & Irish Wild Animal Keepers). Looks good on a CV and of course you get regular updates on what's going on in UK zoos via their journal 'Ratel'.

Going to the ABWAK Symposium in March would also give you a chance to network and meet zoo professionals from other collections. It shows a potential employer that you are taking your career in animal husbandry seriously and are looking to progress.

Good luck,

Hex

3. Hexaprotodon

Hexaprotodon Well-Known Member

Also worth checking this link for vacancies regularly:

Zoo Jobs

4. Devi

Devi Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Also, get someone experienced to look over your cv or application forms, you might be missing out important info or just not selling yourself properly.

5. Elsa89

Elsa89 New Member

Thanks for the advice. I'm considering finishing with my current employment and begin volunteering at a new zoo. How would that look to prospective employers? I'm worried it would look silly to quit a paid keeper position?

6. littleRedPanda

littleRedPanda Well-Known Member

Yorkshire Wildlife Park has a number of roles advertised, maybe beneath your qualifications, but worth a look if you are considering volunteering anyway

Yorkshire Wildlife Park

7. zoogiraffe