Join our zoo community

Hello from an Aspiring Zoo Designer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by DevinL, 11 Jul 2017.

1. DevinL

DevinL Well-Known Member 5+ year member

Hello,

My name is Devin. I've lurked for quite some time on Zoochat, so I'm both excited and nervous to finally post!

My dream is to work full-time as a landscape architect specializing in zoo design! Landscape architecture is a small profession in Canada. As of 2011, there were only 1,500 employed in Canada. Even fewer designers are lucky enough to work with zoos. I have some experience helping a private zoo design firm, but I'm hungry for more. In the meantime, I will have to subdue my cravings with ZooChat :p !

2. Zooplantman

Zooplantman Well-Known Member

Welcome Devin. There are several zoo designers here on Zoohat and there are a few people who came to Zoochat with the same dream as yours and have since gotten employment with zoo design firms.

3. DevinL

Thank you for the nice welcome Zooplantman!

I have probably read hundreds of your posts and really appreciate your contributions to ZooChat! I have also browsed through your website and respect the contributions you have made to zoo design professionally, although I don't believe I've yet had the pleasure of seeing any of your projects in person.

4. natel12

natel12 Well-Known Member 5+ year member

Welcome to zoochat Devin! As of right now we actually have a member who is opening up his own zoo on July 22 and i bet he can give you some great advice!

5. natel12

natel12 Well-Known Member 5+ year member

6. Zooplantman

Thank-you, Devin. Very kind. Oddly enough all my Canadian projects are not zoo related (office buildings, a park and an airport)

7. Batto

Batto Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Thanks for mentioning me @natel12; you're much too kind.

I can only offer one piece of advice: listen to the zookeepers when designing a zoo exhibit. ;)

8. DevinL