Join our zoo community

Hello! I'm new!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BowersNTU, 19 Aug 2016.

1. BowersNTU

BowersNTU New Member

Hello everyone, I'm currently studying Zoo Biology at NTU! I'm (relucantly) heading into my third year, so came here for some dissertation inspiration!

I was hopefully looking to do my project on Asian elephants, but I'm really struggling to come up with ideas. I was thinking something along the lines of a captivity vs wild comparision or specific issues they face in captivity.

I am trying my best to avoid having to do a data collection (SPSS and I do not get on at all), but I am worried that I won't source an adequate amount of info for a lit review.

Basically, I am in a right panic. So if any of you lovely people could point me in the right direction, I would be forever grateful.

Jade :)

2. karoocheetah

karoocheetah Well-Known Member

Hiya Jade,

Firstly - welcome to Zoo Chat :) you can find a hugely varied set of people with a hugely varied amount of knowledge both real and imagined :)

OK with respect to your project/dissertation - I think you do yourself a disservice with your statement that you are looking to avoid data collection completely - by definition science requires data of some sort and it's only by understanding that data whether actual measurement or observational measurement do we then understand what we are investigating - hopefully - normally by definition it opens up more questions from the answers you get - that is the basis for the whole educational system - to build on previous data and expand the field.

So I think you are going to need to collect data i some format - but do not despair - it's not all about being able to number crunch and manipulating huge reams of numbers via statistical packages - there are other types of data and other types of data analysis!