Join our zoo community

Hello ZooBeat members

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Bele, 4 Jul 2008.

1. Bele

Bele Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I discovered ZooBeat by chance last week and have spent hours finding answers to lots of questions I had about UK zoos .

I have been visiting UK and some Continental zoos for over 50 years , including many collections now long gone .

I enjoy all types of exhibit but particularly primates , breeding elephants , okapis , clouded leopards amongst others .

Today I have been to Pembrokeshire and visited Manor House Wildlife Park - closed still but i was let in for a look around , Silent World in Tenby ( my first sight of dwarf seahorses ) and Begelly Gardens and Monkey Sanctuary . Let me know if you want more information on these .

2. Rookeyper

Rookeyper Well-Known Member

Welcome to Zoobeat. I'm a zookeeper in the US caring mostly for Australian animals. There are lots of people here with a great deal of knowledge to share. I hope you continue to learn from this group!

3. MARK

MARK Well-Known Member

Welcome to Zoobeat Bele

4. zoospud

zoospud Well-Known Member

Welcome Bele

I have been zoo visiting for 40 years in the UK. The last 10 of which have included the rest of Europe (since the cheap flights). I am joint webmaster for < Zoo History >. Many of our members have likewise been visiting UK zoos for decades.

Is the Welsh Hawking Centre on Barry Island still doing okay ?

5. Bele

Welsh Hawking Centre

Hello Zoospud

I believe the Welsh hawking Centre is still open . I have been meaning to make a trip there for ages .

I knew the place better as Barry Zoo , a trip there at Easter was a regular trip with my family . I have some old guide books somewhere . Many of the old enclosures were still in use - adapted - on my last visit , including the Elephant House .

6. Marc

Marc Well-Known Member

7. zoospud

Treasure those guides.