Join our zoo community

Help a Zoo Chatter find a place to Study Zoos Abroad

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Otter Lord, 22 Oct 2013.

1. Otter Lord

Otter Lord Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Hi everyone, some of you may know that I am a landscape architecture student in the United States. My school's program is unique and offers students the ability to live abroad some place for 15 weeks while studying the city. I am different from most of my class mates because I want to study zoos and go into the zoo design field. I am trying to decide on a place to go to and I was hoping to tap into the incredible international community here to help with the decision making process.

How we decide on a place starts by professors presenting different locations to us and we are allowed to apply to different locations. Students go abroad in groups so I cannot go to some place if other students aren't interested. My current selections in rank of highest to lowest are:

Prague (to be presented next week)
    Berlin
    Amsterdam (can travel to Rotterdam?)
    Malmö, Sweden (can travel to Copenhagen?)
    (Mystery place that might be presented)

I would be living in one of these places so my main zoo study would have to be fairly close (45 min max). I would like to travel for a few day trips to other zoos (2.5 hours max) and I could possibly do a few weekend trips somewhere farther than that.

So I want to live in a place that has has a lot of recent exhibits that are well recognized for their design. I am also interested in seeing animals that I cannot see in America and am willing to travel for them. I definitely want to travel to Leipzig for Godwanaland and Zürich for everything they have.

Some personal biases to consider:
    • focus on contemporary design over traditional
    • zoo horticulture inside of exhibits and out