Join our zoo community

Indian rhino and asian elephant mix?

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Kwambeze, 9 Feb 2014.

1. Kwambeze

Kwambeze Well-Known Member

Hey! Swedish zoos started mixing different asian and african hoofstock on large savannas in the early 60s, and have had white rhinos mixed with both african and asian elephants (+ antilopes, buffalos, birds, giraffes etc.). Now is my question if any zoos have had any luck with mixing asian elephants with indian rhinos? And possibly more species? (I have no experience with this rhino species since it's not kept in Sweden.)

2. Elephas Maximus

Elephas Maximus Well-Known Member

Indian rhinos are aggressive. By mixing them with elephants you result in trampled calves of both species and puncture wounds from tusks & horns...

3. Kwambeze

Thank you! So there are no successful mixings between indian rhinos and any other species?

4. Brum

Brum Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Well I can think of a few examples of other species, just not elephants.

Chester keep a pair with brow-antlered deer and black buck.

West Midlands Safari Park allow theirs in to the large Asian reserve with a variety of other hoofstock.

I've seen a photo of them mixed with takin in the gallery and I'm sure they're also kept with muntjac and otters elsewhere.

5. Kifaru Bwana

Kifaru Bwana Well-Known Member 15+ year member

@Kwambeze, I do think it is a question of space. WSMP - West Midlands have a rhino area and a much more extensive Asian hoof stock exhibit around it.

I am sure if a situation would exist with say Boras Zoo and the white rhino and cheetah species co-existing, that space and acres of it would make it something of a do-able reality.

True, the GOH rhinos are aggressive by nature - so are black rhinos - but a zoo like Ree Park in Ebeltoft has demonstrated that black rhinos and hoof stock can work … again if acres and acres of space is available to them.