Join our zoo community

International zoo news magazine

Discussion in 'TV, Movies, Books about Zoos & Wildlife' started by Bobby_21, 7 Jun 2008.

1. Bobby_21

Bobby_21 Well-Known Member

Does anyone know of any way of getting editions of the International Zoo news magazine over the internet? It used to be available from Zoo news but that stopped about 4 years ago. I always enjoyed reading it but as I was only a school kid i couldn't afford to pay the subscription fee to have it delivered.

2. Pertinax

Pertinax Well-Known Member 15+ year member

Does IZN even still exist nowadays?

3. bongorob

bongorob Well-Known Member 15+ year member

Yes, I have a subscription. Chester Zoo produce it now.

4. sooty mangabey

sooty mangabey Well-Known Member

IZN is still very much alive and kicking. It comes out eight times a year. The latest issue includes feature articles on the new tropical house at Hamburg, management of sealions, and enrichement for giant tortoises. It is no longer available on the internet, sadly.

It is not produced by Chester Zoo. Rather, they offer financial support (it is has always been a loss-making venture), but - beyond having their name in the front of the magazine - they don't really have much of an active role in the magazine's production. It is still edited, as it has been for nearly 20 years, by the excellent Nicholas Gould, who now lives in the Orkney Islands. Nick is not a zoo enthusiast in the way that most of us on this forum are, but he is a real enthusiast for all things which are done well and with panache. He can be contacted at Fealquoy, Rousay, Orkney, KW17 2PS, Uk. E-mail: [email protected]. Subscriptions to the magazine are not cheap, but they are still good value for money (compare to the latest International Zoo yearbook - a snip at ca £110!). Nick will send a free sample copy to anyone who is interested.

5. bongorob

bongorob Well-Known Member 15+ year member