Join our zoo community

lion enclosure

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by tasha, 20 May 2010.

Tags:
  1. tasha

tasha Member

hi im a student and i am doing an assignment where i have to design my own enclosure and i was wondering what is the best material to create an enclosure with, which is safe for the lion and the public. thankyou to anyone who can help

Last edited: 20 May 2010
  2. Zooplantman

Zooplantman Well-Known Member

Do you mean to keep the lion in and the visitor out?

I think that many of our UK members would say chain link fence for the lion with a second lower fence/rail outside that to keep the visitor away from the lion fence.

In many zoos in the US, that simple design is rejected in favor of a more "immersive" and dramatic experience. So while there may be high fence (6m is a possibility) around much of the lion area, there may be a glass viewing (which requires stronger structure around it - usually disguised under fake rock), or an open view where there is a broad and deep dry moat (not filled with water) to keep the lions in. You'd still have the visitor fence/rail there to keep people from hurling themselves into the moat.

I do wonder when students say they have to design an enclosure but ask what to use. Doesn't the teacher give any guidance or instruction? What is the exercise for?

Hope this helps.

3. mazfc

mazfc Well-Known Member

The Yorkshire wildlife park have just built a new lion enclosure, maybe you could contact them for some tips :)

4. Zooplantman

5. tasha

tasha Member

yes this helps a lot thanks, not really we only get like a brief saying what to include and we go away and research all the areas involve then get all the prices and everything like that, i know there is quite a few materials you can use but i was wondering which one is best.

6. taun

taun Well-Known Member

Its not about whats best, its why you choice the materials for the effect you want!