Join our zoo community

Mixed Animal Enclosures

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Billie.A, 25 Apr 2016.

1. Billie.A

Billie.A New Member

Hi, I'm currently studying towards a degree in animal science and i also volunteer in a little zoo, Drusillas in the UK.

As part of my degree i have to undertake a project of my choice. I am really interested in lemurs and would like to hear from other people who can share some info. At drusillas zoo we have ring tailed lemurs (all male) in with a breeding family group of black lemurs. The group works perfectly and some how they are able to communicate with each other, despite having different vocalizations and coming from different parts of Madagascar.

What i'd like to know is if any other zoos have different species of lemur in together with each other, or anything similar and how it all works? Their inter-specific and intraspecific interactions. Have other zoos tried and failed? what was different? what went wrong? what other animals work well together?

2. FelipeDBKO

FelipeDBKO Well-Known Member

Black-and-white ruffed lemur + Red ruffed lemur
    Ruffed lemurs + Ring-tailed lemur
    Black lemur + Ring-tailed lemur
    Black lemur + Red-bellied lemur + Ring-tailed lemur

3. HorseChild

HorseChild Active Member

Zoo Miami in the US has ring-tailed lemurs, red ruffed lemurs, and black-and-white ruffed lemurs in together.

4. garyjp

garyjp Well-Known Member 5+ year member

cotswold has a mixed lemur exhibit as does woburn

5. MagpieGoose

MagpieGoose Well-Known Member 5+ year member

A lot of zoos mix there lemurs together for example Chester has Ring-Tailed Lemur on Island which where mixed with the Red-Bellied Lemur. Some zoo's have mixed Red Ruffed and Black and White Ruffed together which have created hybrids.
    Noah's Ark Zoo Farm have said that they mixed African Spurred Tortoise in with the Ring-Tails.

Hope this helps

6. Lemurs

Lemurs Well-Known Member