Join our zoo community

My Review of the Phoenix Herpetological Society

Discussion in 'United States' started by azcheetah2, 21 Feb 2012.

1. azcheetah2

azcheetah2 Well-Known Member

I've been wanting to visit this facility ever since I first heard about it several years ago, but always thought it was a private sanctuary that the public was not allowed to visit. Fortunately, I was wrong. I emailed them and asked about a tour, mentioning I was a photographer with a large interest in crocodillians and a tour was set up fairly painlessly. I showed up with my camera and was recognized as 'that photography lady who emailed us'. Don't know if that's good or bad. hahaha. A very interesting thing I learned about the place is that they are considered to be a fully functioning zoo, although you'd never really know it.

The first thing that anyone will notice is the large, and I do mean large, number of tortoise species they have on property. We were introduced to a fully grown Russian tortoise, who isn't much bigger than a Desert Tortoise. They have several 'outside' enclosures for them that we looked at before going 'inside' the main part. I should say here that they have two gates that are closed when they don't have visitors so it's not like someone can walk up to an 'outside' tortoise enclosure and steal it. The 'inside' enclosures are not inside a building, but rather just within a series of fences. In the first area we visited, there were 7 wallabies. These Wallabies were confiscated by Fish & Game from someone who'd illegally imported them to Arizona and were going to be destroyed, but were brought to the Herp center instead. They didn't stay around for long and allowed to go almost anywhere they want.