Join our zoo community

Natureland Zoo Nature land visit, review, and species list June 2021

Discussion in 'New Zealand' started by Joe Franklin, 21 Jun 2021.

1. Joe Franklin

Joe Franklin Member

Entrance

Parking at the front of the zoo is effortless, I visited late on Thursday afternoon, and only one other family was in the park at the time. You enter the zoo via the main office staffed by volunteers and pay the $12 adult entry fee, which is incredibly reasonable compared to other zoo's in the country (Yes, the amount of species on display differs obliviously). As you exit the main reception, there is a large map to your left.
    IMG20210617135630.jpg

Aquarium

The first building you enter is an aquarium that houses two fish tanks and an anti-poaching display with items like an Asian small-clawed otter pelt and a crocodile head on show. There are no signs that specify what fish are in the two tanks, but to the best of my ability (I'm no fish expert), the first tank contains seven Oscars. The second tank contains a single large Gourami (or goldfish). Feel free to correct me, ill supply the pictures below. General comments are that the building is very small, and if the zoo were busy, it would only be able to host 5-6 people comfortably. Given that the building is small, this also means that the tanks are pretty small, particularly the first tanks, which hosts seven fish.
    IMG20210617135833.jpg IMG20210617135846.jpg

Kea free-flight aviary