Join our zoo community

New Member & A Request

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by DKirsch, 26 Mar 2019.

1. DKirsch

DKirsch New Member

Hello everyone! I've been a fan of this site for a while but only just now decided to join for kind of a specific reason (I'll get more into that in a bit).

I've always been a huge animal lover and interested in conservation mostly because of zoos, which I think are really fascinating places to think about, aside from just being enjoyable to visit. Last year I graduated from college in Massachusetts with degrees in biology and anthropology. Obviously the biology connects to the wildlife interest, but the anthropology studies actually do too. What I got really excited about and spent most of my time thinking about was animal-human interaction and relationships: learning about how the ways humans think about/interact with animals have changed over time, what kind of relationships people can build with non-human animals, and how the experiences of the animals contribute to those relationships.

Zoos clearly are a really interesting place to consider these questions, and I got a fellowship from my college to fund a yearlong project exploring these themes at zoos around the world, which was really exciting. The fellowship is supposed to fund an international independent project (can't return to the US for a year until it's done) that's mostly experiential. I don't have to do any formal research or write a formal paper, so I'm basically just visiting zoos, talking to people who work at them when I can ,mostly people who work in conservation/education, recording my experiences and seeing what kind of things I can learn about the ways that zoos try to serve both animals and people and how it's still changing to this day.