Join our zoo community

No Pronghorn OutSide America?!

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Gforrestersmith, 23 Sep 2011.

Tags:
  1. Gforrestersmith

Gforrestersmith Well-Known Member

I only recently found a Really Shocking Discovery: There are No ProngHorn in Zoos Outside of North America! Why?! ProngHorn are Not Even an Endangered Species!:confused:

zeynep and Kifaru Bwana like this.
  2. reduakari

reduakari Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I think you should re-read the original message.

3. Gforrestersmith

Gforrestersmith Well-Known Member

Your Right! I'm Sorry, Sir it's Just that this is My First Time Here.

4. Arizona Docent

Arizona Docent Well-Known Member 15+ year member

That is surprising, considering how common they are in U.S. zoos (especially in the Southwest). They are certainly an interesting species, being neither a deer nor an antelope but in a category all their own.

JigerofLemuria and Kifaru Bwana like this.
  5. Blackduiker

Blackduiker Well-Known Member

It seems I remember reading back in the 70s that they can be difficult to to keep. As to why, I don't remember. I'm not too up on pronghorn husbandry, though Los Angeles has
    always had success with them, including the highly endangered Peninsular Pronghorn.

6. Pertinax

Pertinax Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I believe its due largely to Climatic factors and stress levels that they aren't in Zoos in other parts of the World. I doubt there are e.g. any European Roe Deer in USA Zoos- for similar reasons.

Kifaru Bwana likes this.
  7. Ituri

Ituri Well-Known Member 15+ year member

No but there are some Siberian roe deer in private hands in the US.

Kifaru Bwana likes this.
  8. Giant Eland

Giant Eland Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Do you have any information on where these private collections with Siberian Roe Deer are? Or who the owner is? Any chance to see a new hoofed mammal species is always special for me!

Kifaru Bwana likes this.
  9. ungulate nerd