Join our zoo community

Please help!!! I need to find zoos with bats!

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Mattj44, 4 May 2011.

Tags:
  1. Mattj44

Mattj44 New Member

Hi everyone, I'm a graduate student at the University of Kansas studying the ways bats move on the ground. I need to find zoos with different species of bats that I can observe. If anyone has any information on zoos with species other than the usual Common Vampire, Indian Fruit Bat, etc. I would greatly appreciate it.

I'm specifically looking for some microbats like Bulldog bats, Spectral bats, and New Zealand Short-tailed bats, but anything you know of would be a big help. I'm looking at zoos in the United States first, but if you know of something outside the US I would appreciate that too. I know there were a few zoos in New Zealand that had New Zealand Short-tailed bats, does anyone know which zoos might still have them?

Thanks in advance for any and all help you can provide!

Matthew F. Jones
    University of Kansas
    Lawrence, KS, USA

2. Chlidonias

Chlidonias Moderator Staff Member 15+ year member

Auckland Zoo has 6.2 short-tailed bats but I don't think they are currently on display.

If you check ISIS you'll find which bats are where in zoos worldwide (at least for those zoos that submit records and keep them updated). You need to search by species rather than zoo.

Zootierliste covers Europe and you can search by either species or zoo.

3. KCZooFan

KCZooFan Well-Known Member

The nearby Omaha Zoo has a fantastic bat collection with bulldog bats, common vampire bats, and Indian fruit bat, greater leaf-nosed bats, short-tailed fruit bats, Egyptian fruit bat, Ruwenzori long-haired fruit bats, and little golden-mantled fruit bats. Sedgwick county has common vampire as well a Ryukyu flying fox, and Topeka also has Ryukyu. Hope this helps :)

P.S. I'm a big KU fan :D

Last edited: 4 May 2011
  4. Phantom Gaur

Phantom Gaur Well-Known Member