Join our zoo community

Questionnaire; Public's Perception on Rhino Conservation

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by CameronSpade, 9 Feb 2017.

1. CameronSpade

CameronSpade New Member

Hello, i'm currently studying Animal Science BSc Honours degree, and for my university study, i must get replies on publics perception on rhino conservation. Please complete :D

https://goo.gl/forms/TQpOdSTCoHXZjrNj2

Thanks in advance!

2. Tim May

Tim May Well-Known Member 15+ year member Premium Member

I have completed the survey, good luck with your degree and the survey.

Please note that an early question in your survey on number of rhino species, gives the possible answers as 1,2,3,4 or 5 - yet there are six species of rhinoceros:- black, northern white, southern white, Indian, Javan and Sumatran.

Last edited: 9 Feb 2017
  3. Giant Panda

Giant Panda Well-Known Member 5+ year member

The reassessment by Groves et al. is far from certain: it was based on a controversial interpretation of a controversial species concept (and a potentially damaging one in this case), suffered from limited sample sizes (both in terms of individuals and genetic loci), and has been challenged by subsequent research. Certainly for the sake of this project, I think following the IUCN's five species is perfectly fair.

Good luck with your degree @CameronSpade.

4. Tim May

Inevitably, not all taxonomists agree (and I know you said Groves was controversial) but I thought it was now generally accepted that the northern and southern white rhinoceros were distinct species, not subspecies, thus making six rhino species in total.

The most recent book I own that lists all rhinoceros species:-

· Ungulate Taxonomy (Groves and Grubb; 2011)

considers the northern and southern whites to be separate species.

And the two forms have been isolated for a very long while.

Why should considering the two forms separate species be “potentially damaging” ?

5. Giant Panda