Join our zoo community

Reptile park in Victoria

Discussion in 'Australia' started by Midgard.Morelia, 18 Mar 2023.

1. Midgard.Morelia

Midgard.Morelia Member

Hi guys, I’m relatively new to the idea of building a zoo/wildlife park… though I’ve been thinking about it deeply for the past few months. I have a few questions but firstly I’ll run you guys through my thinking process.

I have a lot of respect for the work that Australian zoos/parks do with venomous reptiles and anti-venoms etc. but I’ve never really seen any focus on pythons and locality subspecies of Australian native reptiles. I know there are 20+ subspecies and locality morphs of carpet pythons alone. And due to designer breeding in the captive industry, wild type, pure genetics for these pythons is few and far between. For conservation reasons (should any wild populations that are locality specific, drop drastically), I would really love to create a non-for-profit wildlife park with a focus on small scale conservation of as many native species as possible. Beginning with reptiles and hopefully extending to mammals, birds, and whatever else I can try to help.

I want to create a park in regional Melbourne, that houses a collections of pairs (or multiple) of as many species as I can have the room for. Realistically there would have to be a number on display, the types that bring crowds which obviously bring money which then goes to more conservation. I know this is a little bit crazy, and gods know I’d never have any chance of doing it on my own, I’ll need as much help as I can find… but before I go asking where I’d get started, I want to know if anyone else has considered doing something similar? Maybe we could work together? Or if there are people who would be interested in being a part of this. I have a feeling it’ll take a small army.

secondly, and I’m not in a rush, but for the sake of beginning, where do I start?