Join our zoo community

Requirements to become a Zoo Keeper?

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by Eggham, 9 Apr 2015.

1. Eggham

Eggham Member

Hello,

I am new to ZooChat so I am not sure if I am posting this thread on to the relevant topic.

I just want to ask current/past Keepers if it helps to be a member of an association for example Biaza or ABWAK, to get a Zoo Keeper role?

My goal is to become a Zoo Keeper but I am wondering if it is something I am doing wrong or if its just a matter of luck.

I have Animal Management Level 3 qualifications, I have experience from my studies(maybe not enough) and I am volunteering every week in a wildlife place.

I want to make sure I have everything covered so it increases my chances of getting my dream job!

Thanks for reading :)

2. Hexaprotodon

Hexaprotodon Well-Known Member

Yes you are doing pretty much all the right things!!

Now keep an eye on the Zoo Jobs website (link below), and apply for pretty much every entry level job that comes up. Be prepared to move, not earn very much money and work hard!!

Zoo Jobs

Good luck!

3. Eggham

Eggham Member

Thank you!

4. meg4213

meg4213 New Member

Undertaking a university course or the DMZAA would also be advantageous, I'm doing the same animal management course as you and volunteering at a zoo

5. Lemurs

Lemurs Well-Known Member

I've seen Howletts have a primate job. A 'Zoo Animal Management qualification' would be an advantage. However, BIAZA's site only really mention Chelmsford, Portsmouth and Plymouth unis. Do many colleges do such courses? I haven't really got the time or money to go back to uni. Cheers.

6. Eggham

Eggham Member

Thank you for your reply. I completed my BTEC Extended Diploma Animal Management Level 3 at College, not University. Although, there is a College called Sparsholt in Hampshire and you are able to take degrees there.