Join our zoo community

the aspect of zoos I like the least

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by cwenwyn, 29 Mar 2009.

1. cwenwyn

cwenwyn Well-Known Member

Is the people - the visitors, to be specific.

Let me preface by saying 2 things.
    1) My husband and I were never blessed with children. I cannot truly appreciate how hard the job of raising a child properly is and I do not know firsthand how difficult it is to keep them under control in public. I was a child once, but that's the limit of my experience. (editing to add that while I'm not a parent, I was a girl scout resident camp counselor for 3 years (and an aunt for 25), so I have wrangled a child or 20... maybe I have a little knowledge of what it takes....)
    2) I am a simple zoo lover (does that sound right?). I am not an animal expert, docent or keeper. I like what I like and I see what I see.

The only thing that spoils my zoo visits is the people. Can't we screen them or make them pass an intelligence or manners test?! ;)

Example: