Join our zoo community

The Mummified Zoo

Discussion in 'Zoo Cafe' started by wensleydale, 9 Oct 2014.

1. wensleydale

wensleydale Well-Known Member

I hope this won't make anyone lose their appetite.

Given that Art Museums are one of my other loves and the fact that I have a degree in art it ought to come as no surprise that I eventually found a way to combine the two.

I was at the Museum of Fine Arts Boston last week and I made the horrible mistake of walking into Gallery 109, AKA "The Mummies." They had several cases of animal mummies, and their storage areas hold at least several more if I recall correctly (check their website). I noticed that they had several cats (including a few kittens, complete with little ears sewn into their wrappings) and an Ibis, and several crocodiles of various sizes before I began retching uncontrollably, caught a glimpse of one of the human mummies and that giant sarcophagus lid that looks like its eyes are following you around the room, and fled. No, I wasn't scared, I just think the dead belong in the ground. All the guards were staring at me.

Then I had the displeasure of coming upon a severed head in one of the other galleries. I swear to God, Governor not so big now that he is dead must have everything there that was buried with him but his body from the neck down.

But I digress?

Has anyone ever seen any animal mummies themselves? Any kind, Egyptian or no. Tell me, and please no posting pictures. Or do you not appreciate art? Also, what species of Ibis do you all reckon it was?

2. elefante

elefante Well-Known Member 10+ year member

Sounds like a strange exhibit but also interesting. I'm assuming these were all ancient Egyptian mummies? I would guess the ibis was a sacred ibis.

3. wensleydale