Join our zoo community

Trend Towards Splitting Species

Discussion in 'Wildlife & Nature Conservation' started by TheOnlineZoo, 27 Jul 2013.

1. TheOnlineZoo

TheOnlineZoo Well-Known Member

With my new-found access to this wide cross-section of people knowledgeable about animals, I want to get your opinions on a topic that I have often pondered and debated with my brother. (He's an evolutionary biologist; I'm a computer programmer.) That topic is my belief that scientists tend to split species too often.

I'm new to the forum, so please tell me if this topic is not appropriate or if I should have put it in a different section. "Wildlife" seemed like the closest fit.

With my interest in zoos and birding, I have often contemplating the lumping and splitting of species. It seems to me that the trend lately has been to split, and DNA testing is usually cited as the justification for the split.

However, with my cynical nature, I have to question some of this. Scientists trying to build a reputation for themselves can do so faster by publishing an article that says, "the people before me were wrong; here's how it really is...." If they do a study that merely confirms a previously-held belief, they are less likely to get published or noticed.

Now don't get me wrong - I hold scientists in high regard, and I believe that a higher percentage of scientists are ethical than of the general population. I just think that subconsciously, people are more likely to look for a reason to change than to look for a reason to stay the same.

The two pairs of species I tend to use as examples in these discussions are Tufted Titmouse/Black-crested Titmouse and Sumatran/Bornean Orangutan.