Join our zoo community

Trying to get a camera

Discussion in 'Animal Photography' started by TheEthiopianWolf03, 11 Apr 2018.

1. TheEthiopianWolf03

TheEthiopianWolf03 Well-Known Member

I'm new to zoo and wildlife photography and all photos that I took were taken on my iphone. I plan on getting an actual camera but I don't know which camera I should get. I also don't know which lens I should get with my camera. My price range is under $1,000 for both camera and lens. So what should I get? Or at least what does everyone else use for photography?

2. Terry Thomas

Terry Thomas Well-Known Member Premium Member 5+ year member

I use a Nikon D5200, but this one may not be available any longer. There will be another similar model. I also use a Nikon 200mm lens. Not the best camera, but gives quite reasonable results. Should be within your budget.

TheEthiopianWolf03 likes this.
  3. littleRedPanda

littleRedPanda Well-Known Member

I've seen plenty of really nice photos with a Nikon D5300 and a Nikon 70-300 lens. I don't know about US prices, but that combination would be just about £1000

Last edited: 11 Apr 2018
  4. littleRedPanda

and i'll repeat this here too

5. Welsh Zootographer

Welsh Zootographer Well-Known Member

I use:
    • A pair of Nikon D7100 bodies
    • A Nikon GP-1 that geotags the files
    • A Nikon WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
    • AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
    • AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
    • AF-S DX Micro NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G

I am looking to add:

• A Sigma 150-600mm F/5-6.3 DG HSM
    • And maybe upgrade one of the bodies to a D7200

6. TheEthiopianWolf03

TheEthiopianWolf03 Well-Known Member

I found a Nikon D5300 kit with a 70-300mm lens. It’s around $700. Would this work for good quality photos?

7. Terry Thomas