Join our zoo community

UK zoos & lockdown going forward...

Discussion in 'United Kingdom' started by TriUK, 8 May 2020.

1. TriUK

TriUK Well-Known Member 10+ year member

I've been thinking about how zoos & wildlife parks are going to move forward. I work in education, and though there are many differences in schools with reference to the challenges we will face when re-opening, some of the issues will be the same. If I was trying to manage my local zoo, Paignton, for example, I may consider pre-paid tickets only to be scanned by a member of staff outside the main entrance or behind a kiosk. It would be relatively easy to install a one way system at the zoo i.e everybody goes left towards the reptile tropics, and everybody exits via the Brookside aviary and out the 'side entrance' (used in the evenings when the shop is closed). Some of the indoor exhibits would be out of bounds and there would be some sections, such as dead ends (Owls, Takin and Cheetah) which would be closed off completely. Temporary painted lines on the floor would guide people through the 'route' with 2 metre distancing guides at popular spots. Volunteers and education staff could gently keep the flow moving - much like visiting a National Trust house. Prices could be reduced and members would have to book slots in advance to allow paying visitors entry. Jersey announced something similar this week. Each zoo will have its own issues and compromises, but discussion is important and I think if approached creatively and sensitively, with input from lots of agencies and stakeholders, we could be back visiting safely very soon whilst securing the futures of our much loved conservation institutions.

2. Andrew Swales

Andrew Swales Well-Known Member

I hope you are right! All of this is being discussed, and much more....
    A couple of things I would ask about are -