Join our zoo community

very successful breeders

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Monty, 15 Jul 2006.

1. Monty

Monty Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I am interested in what happens to those animals which breed very well in zoos, when there are more than the zoo wants. For example the Barbary sheep which is threatened in the wild seems to be a very good breeder and many zoos seem to have large mobs. This also includes animals the zoos are no longer wanting to keep and are phasing out.

It would be a pitty if these animals are fed to the carnivores.

Are they ever sold privatly.

I have been running fallow deer for over 10 years and would love to have other more unusual species. If I had adaquate fencing would it be possable to buy animals from zoos which would help the zoo financially and allow them to concentrate more on their priority species.

2. ZooPro

ZooPro Well-Known Member

In most cases animals that are proposed to be phased out, are displayed until they die of old age, or by natural attrition. Most zoos these days, especially in this region, manage their populations effectively, so they do not breed surplus animals, as there are frequently insufficient spaces in other zoos to move them to.

ARAZPA institutions have a regional collection plan that indicates how many "spaces" they each have for adults of each species, and the regional populations are bred to fill these spaces.

Private ownership of exotic species depends on your state or territory's individual rules. In most cases, apart from common domestic species, zoos do not sell animals to private individuals.

3. Zoo_Boy

Zoo_Boy Well-Known Member

actually i will oppose your ruling zoopro, dubbo zoo for example has sold a few of its eland to a private zoo in griffith, and they are preparing to send them to this collector, for his new private zoo.