Join our zoo community

What to put in a fantasy giant aviary?

Discussion in 'Fantasy Zoos' started by TESSschools, 9 Jun 2016.

Tags:
  1. TESSschools

TESSschools Member

I fantasies about building a giant aviary (let's say 5km by 5km), but often get lost in thought when trying to decide what to put in it. I have three factors I would want to stick too:

Most endangered species
    As many species as possible
    Species that particularly compliment each other ecologically

I live most in Northern England so a wet but not to hot, not to cold kind of place - this is where it would be.

I'm new to ZooChat and super impressed by all of your fantasy zoos etc... I'd love to here how or what you'd all come up with to tackle the above situation? What exactly would go in this giant aviary..?

2. TheDisneyTeen

TheDisneyTeen Member

Wow that is a gigantic aviary! :p I will give some thought into it. Just some questions:
    Is this a "dome concept", meaning that the whole area can be climate-controlled? (I know this will be virtually impossible logistically and financially in real life......but hey, why not? )
    Is this entirely a free flight aviary? So no enclosures within ithr aviary is allowed?
    Is there a limit to the number of species we can choose and must feasibility (ease to obtain, difficulty in keeping in captivity etc.) be considered?

3. TESSschools

TESSschools Member

Thanks, I'd love to here them. Great questions, here's what I was thinking:

Actually no not domed and climate controlled but more of a very basic and cheap version, simply a very large net over very long poles. I like the idea of keeping the climate of Norther England.

I'm thinking initially a free flight enclosure as emphasis here is on space for flight, two enclosures max I'd say.