Join our zoo community

Your Best Zoo Encounters

Discussion in 'Australia' started by nanoboy, 2 Mar 2011.

1. nanoboy

nanoboy Well-Known Member

Hi Guys,

Newbie here! I stumbled on this website whilst searching for information on a wildlife park. Pleased to meet you all. I love the discussions that I have read so far.

Anyway, I was wondering, which zoo encounters in Australia have you done recently, and which would you recommend?

In the past couple years, my wife and I have done (in no particular order):

1. Naughty Wombats - Australia Zoo
    Our first close encounter with a wombat, so that was great.

2. Zooventure - National Zoo
    This was awesome. Feeding the tiger, lion, bear, cougars etc was an incredible experience.

3. Open Vehicle Adventure - Werribee Open Range Zoo
    As an African safari is not within our budget at the moment, this was not a bad compromise.

We have also interacted with many other animals at various zoos and wildlife parks during 'keeper talks' or after a 'show'. We are eager to have more close encounters though.

So, which are your favourites, and which do you recommend?

Thanks guys!

2. Paulag

Paulag Member

Not Australia but:

Meet the aardvarks at Colchester - awesome is the only word.

Oh and the Owl Handling Evening at the Falconry Centre Hagley was wonderful as well.

3. CGSwans

CGSwans Well-Known Member 15+ year member

I've done 2) and 3) on your list. The OVA really destroys the regular bus ride for Werribee though, it's just not the same.

Meerkats at Halls Gap is great value. The early morning walk at Dubbo is good. I've done the reptile tour and seal tour at Melbourne Zoo. The seals is sort of a work-in-progress, but has good bits. The reptile tour is great if, like me, you collect reptiles vicariously through your local zoo. :p

4. nanoboy

Cheers guys.
    If I am in the UK, I will be sure to try some of those experiences.