Join our zoo community

Zoo orangutans are important ambassadors

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by dawnaforsythe, 11 Nov 2008.

Tags:
  1. dawnaforsythe

dawnaforsythe Active Member

Zoos today are doing a fabulous job at educating the public about the orangutan crisis. Several U.S. zoos are participating in Orangutan Awareness Week (Nov. 9-15), and I've blogged about their activities at Orangutan Watch.

With presentations covering rainforest destruction, palm oil, and the pet trade, zoos are vital messengers about the desperate need for orangutan conservation. The 550 orangutans residing in U.S. and European zoos are important ambassadors to the upright primates who are largely uninformed about these wonderful Asian great apes.

I am new to ZooChat. I hope people post about zoo orangutan programs -- I'd like to add to our collaborative education effort at Orangutan Watch. If you want an orangutan activity posted to our website, email me at [email protected]

2. Gigit

Gigit Well-Known Member

I was just about to start a thread celebrating orangutans to mark Orangutan Awareness Week! I agree that zoo orangutans are great ambassadors for their species and wonder what stories people have about their charm and intelligence.
    I mentioned on the 'I think zoos are taking over my life' thread that Paignton's male, Demo, is gradually demolishing the orangutan island. He started a while ago by pulling planks off a platform and has graduated to completely removing the top from a fallen platform, triumphantly carrying the bolts and fixtures indoors (sadly not allowed to keep them!). Today I noticed that he's now working on the bridge leading from the ape house to the island and it has a hole in the middle of it.
    Female Mali is intent on removing all the bedding from the house to the island and you can often see a mound of wood wool seemingly making its way over the bridge by itself, Mali being hidden underneath it.