Join our zoo community

Zoo Photo Competitions

Discussion in 'Animal Photography' started by littleRedPanda, 2 Feb 2018.

1. littleRedPanda

littleRedPanda Well-Known Member

Just wondering if anyone enters Zoo's own photo comps?
    I've only entered one in the past, but might do a few this year.

2. Welsh Zootographer

Welsh Zootographer Well-Known Member

I haven't so far because those I have seen claim copyright of any photos you enter. I'm a photographer and don't hand over my copyright. :)

3. littleRedPanda

Fair enough. I'm quite happy to let some zoos save a few pennies on photographs to feed their animals etc, seeing as their memberships allow me so many free entries. Saying that, I can't see them saving much by using my entries :)

4. Welsh Zootographer

I have no problems with people using my photographs (with a credit), I have this arrangement with a local preserved steam railway. But when they claim copyright I can no longer benefit from my photos in other ways. :)

5. littleRedPanda

Is that what happens though? In the terms of Blackpool Zoo, only because it was the first i'd looked at for a while "By entering the competition, each entrant grants to Blackpool Zoo an irrevocable license to use their image for any and all zoo educational and marketing purposes." It's not so much giving them copyright, but allowing them to use the image as they wish. I'd expect that to be the case with other zoo competitions.

6. Welsh Zootographer

That is no problem, but when I have seen a couple of others they haven't been worded as that. I can't recall where, my family are always giving me information on photo competitions even though I only enter photographic exhibitions recognised by FIAP, PSA, RPS, etc. :D

7. gentle lemur

gentle lemur Well-Known Member 15+ year member