Join our zoo community
Javan Rhino

Barasingha or Sambar

Can anybody better at ID'ing deer species help me out with this one - I watched more Lion King than Bambi when I was young, which is my way of saying I know far more antelope than deer :p

Barasingha or Sambar
Javan Rhino, 30 Jul 2012
    • Javan Rhino
      Can anybody better at ID\'ing deer species help me out with this one - I watched more Lion King than Bambi when I was young, which is my way of saying I know far more antelope than deer :p
    • BeardsleyZooFan
      I'm no expert when it comes to deer, but I'd say Barasingha.
    • Pacarana
      Those are sambar.
    • khakibob
      This stag is "not" from any of the sub species of sambar !

Is there any sambar in any collections in the UK? I'm asked this often by people wanting to keep them there. I believe they were tried in Ireland but failed to establish.

Is there still any rusa in the UK? I believe Woburn had Javan's.

Javan Rhino,we all use antelope incorrectly most of the time for lack of a better name ,but the only real antelope is the Indian Blackbuck, (Antelope cervi capra).

Cheers Khakibob
    • bongorob
      Woburn have Javan Rusa (Timor Deer) and several collections keep Prince Alfred's or Philippine Spotted Deer in the UK. Javan Rhino, I can't identify your deer, but I'm guessing barashinga.
    • khakibob
      I didn't know there was Cervus alfredi in the UK. Wish we had some.
      Groves & Grubb had them removed from "unicolor" sometime in the 80's & made their own species "alfredi". Deer tragics like myself still like to think they're a sambar though. lol

Has any collections had them cross with the javans? Just curious as the rusa's & other sambar's produce fertile offspring when crossed.

Cheers Khakibob
    • Javan Rhino
      Never thought of it that day - suppose I should say I'm better at bovidae than cervidae :p
    • Maguari
    • Maguari
      [pedant mode] Blackbuck are Antilope cervicapra [/pedant mode]