Join our zoo community

Can Any Animal be Held in Captivity?

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by pachyderm pro, 16 Jan 2017.

1. pachyderm pro

pachyderm pro Well-Known Member 5+ year member

This is a topic I thought would have a interesting discussion. Now I've always wondered, under favorable conditions can any and every species be held in a captive situation? Take narwhals for example. They have not been known to thrive in captivity, but if they hypothetically had a 100 acre pools with a chilled water cooler and anything else that they need in the wild, would it be possible?

2. littlewallaby

littlewallaby Active Member

Hypothetically if we could provide the proper conditions I see no reason why it wouldn't work, but I'm also no scientist. You'd have to look at the individual species and determine if there's anything they need from their environment that we couldn't replicate. I'm sure you'd be hard pressed to find something though.

3. Coelacanth18

Coelacanth18 Well-Known Member Premium Member 5+ year member

This is a topic that I find interesting also, @pachyderm pro. I myself created a similar thread recently: To Zoo or Not to Zoo: What to Do About Husbandry-Challenged Species?

I would say that, hypothetically, one could keep most or all species in captivity. I do, however, think that it is too difficult or too labor-intensive for some species to be worth it. Take your example of narwhals: for what reason would a person build a 100-acre pool? I'm not sure a pool of that size would even be feasible from an engineering point of view. Obviously, it wouldn't need to be that large, but I think the resources you would expend trying to keep narwhals alive and well in captivity isn't worth the reward of having narwhals in captivity.

littlewallaby and pachyderm pro like this.
  4. Arizona Docent

Arizona Docent Well-Known Member 15+ year member