Join our zoo community

Captive breeding programmes

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by chieflx, 28 Mar 2008.

1. chieflx

chieflx Member

Hi,

I am not quite sure which forum I should post this request in, so if it is in the wrong place I apologise.

I am a student studying for a degree in Animal Behaviour and am doing a presentation on captive breeding programmes. I have chosen to use Goodfellow's Tree Kangaroo as my example of a captive breeding programme, I have had some success via these forums and other research in finding out how the breeding programme works, which zoos are involved and what successes the programme has had, but the fundamental question I am struggling with is

'what is the rationale for a captive breeding programme of Goodfellow's Tree Kangaroo'

I can make an argument on ethical and sentimental grounds but I would like to include a more 'scientific' answer. Having searched and read postings, both here and on other websites, I am still no nearer to answering the question. I wonder if anyone could give me some guidance on the subject of captive breeding.

If anyone has any other information on captive breeding of tree kangaroos that would also be appreciated as the full scope of the presentation

'...must include details of the rationale, methodology and results of the breeding programme'

Many thanks in advance for help
    Chieflx

2. NZ Jeremy

NZ Jeremy Well-Known Member

Pick Giant Pandas, your assignment will be much easier..!

3. chieflx

chieflx Member

Hi NZ Jeremy,

I'm not sure Giant Pandas would be any easier but thanks for the suggestion. I knew it would be a hard presentation to research but I already have an interest in tree kangaroos and had a lot of accumulated information to hand.