Join our zoo community

Career advice

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by im a chinchilla, 4 Dec 2014.

1. im a chinchilla

im a chinchilla New Member

Hey everyone!

I'm looking for some advice from you guys to help direct me on a path so I can get my dream job, I live in the UK and I'm currently studying for my level 3 in animal management. What else would you people suggest I do? is uni really that important to become a keeper? I also have 4+ years experience working in kennels.

Thanks a lot!

2. Parrotsandrew

Parrotsandrew Well-Known Member

Presumably you will be able to do or have done work placements in a zoo, but have you also got a zoo nearby where you can volunteer on a regular basis? Or if not maybe find one you can visit for a period of volunteering? I think that would help you on your way - three new members of staff at my local zoo were all volunteers there. Going to university will not mean you will be a good keeper, but equally it will not mean you will be a bad one. I think, however, that a number of zoos are going down the graduates only entry route (wrongly in my opinion as you will have gathered from the previous sentence), so I suppose it depends on whether you have your heart set on a particular place or type of collection. On the other hand a member of this site who worked at my local zoo and had not been to university got a job at a safari park ahead of several interview candidates who had - he had the experience from volunteering and then working in a zoo.

3. Suricate

Suricate Member