Join our zoo community

Classic Pits/Cages

Discussion in 'General Zoo Discussion' started by Jacobea, 22 Jun 2009.

1. Jacobea

Jacobea Well-Known Member

A bit of an odd question :rolleyes:

I write stories (trying to be a novelist), and in one of them, set in the mid 18th C, one of the character's has a menagerie. I'm not going to go into massive detail about it in the book, but I was wondering-anyone know of any "classic" examples of how animals used to be contained in the 19th C?

(I know, different century but I highly doubt there are many extant 18th C menagerie enclosures left).

I'm after names of zoos that I should for in the photo gallery, since I'm no great expert at where still has old, old exibits, although I can think of a few (Dublin and Schonnbrunn, although that latter's a little high class for my character!) I am particulary interested in old (Victorian-ate) aviarys, bear pits, monkey cages, etc.

Cheers all :)

2. CZJimmy

CZJimmy Well-Known Member

3. snowleopard

snowleopard Well-Known Member 15+ year member Premium Member

Great suggestion Jimmy! I own that book and it has an interesting overview of the history of zoological establishments.

4. Ned

Ned Well-Known Member 10+ year member

The aquarium at Bristol Zoo is a converted bear pit. You would never think so, but if you look at it, the two waterfalls were originally steps up to the viewing gallery and the walk-thru tank was the pit in which the bears lived. The old climbing pole is stood in the garden in front of the building.

Also, the raven’s cage at London Zoo is 19th C.
    “It is unlikely that any of the cage’s 19th century fabric remains, though early views confirm that the cage’s appearance is essentially as built. It is no more than a large bird cage of the sort that might have formed part of any early menagerie.” Guillery, P. (1993) The Building of London Zoo. London. Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of England.