Join our zoo community

Dissertation ideas

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by emmasteve, 14 May 2016.

1. emmasteve

emmasteve New Member

Hello,

I am currently in my second year at NTU but I figured I should start planning my dissertation so everything runs smoothly next year!

I am thinking of doing a research project on bird behaviour. I have two potential ideas:

1) Teaching a bird a trick or skill and measuring the retention time of the skill over time periods. I thought I could also look at this between ages or species or something like that.

2) Giving some birds an enrichment device and not giving some any enrichment. Teaching all birds the same trick or skill and monitoring if the enrichment device altered their cognitive ability in terms of learning the trick (ie did the enrichment aid learning or not)

I was just wondering if anyone has done anything similar and could give any advice??

Thanks so much! :)

2. overread

overread Well-Known Member

I've not done anything similar but a few thoughts on what you've suggested:

1) It sounds like both of these are where you will gain primary data yourself in your research as opposed to secondary.

2) Research for primary data will take time; thus it would be best to plan now and do the data collection during the summer so that you can write-up during the term-time. Research during term time works; but its harder because you've got other commitments to study at the same time.

3) In general your uni should already be making you plan your dissertation anyway so see what your tutors say - also talk to them about your idea. they generally have a good idea of what is and isn't practical within a dissertation timeframe.

4) Both your subjects sound like there will be ample research material to read up on - bird cognitive functions and studies are niche but well studied and thus it shouldn't be a darkzone unless the actual data/articles are tricky to get. Again talk to your tutors.

3. emmasteve